Former Premier League referee surprised Manchester United weren’t awarded a penalty for Hudson-Odoi handball

Photo: AP

Former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg has ruled that Manchester United should have been given a penalty in our game against Chelsea on Sunday.

Replays showed that Chelsea winger Callum Hudson-Odoi had handled the ball in the penalty area, only for a spot-kick not to be given in the first half of the 0-0 game at Stamford Bridge.

Clattenburg has now questioned the decision in his Daily Mail column:

“I am amazed Manchester United were not awarded a penalty in the first half for the clear handball by Callum Hudson-Odoi.

“The Chelsea player’s arm was up in an unnatural position and the ball hit his hand.

“VAR Chris Kavanagh thought referee Stuart Attwell had missed a clear penalty so he gave him the opportunity to review it at his pitch-side monitor.

“How Attwell did not then point to the spot, having been shown the same angles that we were, is a mystery.”