Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel weighs in on handball incident against Manchester United

Photo: AP

Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel has shared his thoughts on the handball incident in his side’s draw against Manchester United.

The German insists it was Mason Greenwood who handled the ball rather than Callum Hudson-Odoi.

But replays clearly showed that United striker Greenwood’s hand was nowhere near the ball and that it was Chelsea winger Callum Hudson-Odoi who was guilty of a handball offence in his own box.

Referee Stuart Atwell decided against awarding United a penalty for a Hudson-Odoi handball after checking VAR.

Speaking to Sky Sports after the goalless draw at Stamford Bridge on Sunday, Thomas Tuchel said: “How can this be an intervention?

“The player in red [Mason Greenwood] plays the ball with his hand and then we are checking for a penalty. Why does the referee have to see this?”

“You watch it for one second on the pad, or you watch it on the field live and then I see it on the pad, why does the referee need to see this”

“He [Stuart Atwell] does everything right, I don’t understand why he needs to check it but I’m glad it’s no penalty because that would be even worse.”