Revealed: Why referee failed to award a penalty to Manchester United for Hudson-Odoi handball

Photo: AP

Referee Stuart Atwell opted against awarding a penalty to Manchester United despite the fact that Callum Hudson-Odoi clearly touched the ball.

Manchester United left-back Luke Shaw has now revealed the reason the referee gave for not awarding a penalty.

Speaking to Sky Sports after goalless draw against Chelsea, Shaw said: “I even heard the referee say to Harry Maguire ‘if I say it’s a pen then it’s going to cause a lot of people to talk afterwards’.

“Harry said that match officials got told it was a pen by VAR so I’m not sure what’s gone on. I don’t understand why it’s been stopped. If it’s going to stop then you think it’s going to be a pen because we had the ball and we were attacking.

“It’s confusing with this VAR. If it’s not going to be a pen they might as well carry on with the game. They might as well not stop the flow of the game. I’m not going to moan about it because neither team did enough to win.”