Photo: Getty Images

The 30-man shortlist for this year’s Ballon d’Or award has been revealed and Manchester United star Paul Pogba is among the nominees.

The names were released in groups of five throughout the day by France Football magazine, and Pogba is the only player from Manchester United that was shortlisted for the award. Pogba makes the list after a fine World Cup performance that saw him emerge as one of the best players in Russia as France went on to lift the trophy.

The current Ballon d’Or holder is Cristiano Ronaldo and the award is different from the FIFA Player of the Year award that was given to Luka Modric.

The Ballon d’Or is awarded according to three separate criteria. The panel judge nominees on: their performances during the calendar year, their talent and fair play, and their achievements throughout their career. Each member of the panel pick their top five nominees, with their first pick being awarded six points, their second pick receiving four points, their third three points, their fourth two points and their final pick one point. The player with the highest overall score ends up as the winner.

See the full list for the award below

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/France)

Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid/Uruguay)

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid/Belgium)

Edinson Cavani (PSG/Uruguay)

Philippe Coutinho (Barcelona/Brazil)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/Belgium)

David De Gea (Manchester United/Spain)

Mario Mandzukic (Croatia/Juventus)

Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona/Croatia)

Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil)

Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid/France)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium)

Raphael Varane (Real Madrid/France)

Isco (Real Madrid/Spain)

Harry Kane (Tottenham/England)

N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea/France)

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/Wales)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)

Kylian Mbappé (PSG/France)

Sadio Mané (Liverpool/Senegal)

Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil)

Hugo LLoris (Tottenham/France)

Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona/Argentina)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia)

Neymar (PSG/Brazil)

Roberto Firmino (Liverpool/Brazil)

Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid/Slovenia)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain)

Luis Suárez (FC Barcelona/Uruguay)